Author Topic: Frozen Mouse  (Read 2136 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline normfromga

  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3122
  • Manna: 72
  • Gender: Male
  • One mild and lazy guy...
Frozen Mouse
« on: Mon Oct 16, 2006 - 13:34:54 »
Here is a problem that does not seem uncommon among XP users, but I am not sure the often recommended "cure" is applicable to me...

Usually after a few hours use, although it could happen much earlier, the mouse appears not working, that is, the cursor no longer moves on the screen, although other activities in the background still occur, and even the hourglass will appear on the stuck arrow once in a while.  I am using a wired mouse, so it is not a battery problem, and once I reboot, the mouse is completely functional again, discounting any connection problems.

I have used all my anti-virus, anti-spyware programs, and the problem does not rest there.  I have deleted the Fellowes software that came with the mouse, and the problem still occurs.  I have deleted the microsoft mouse and keyboard software and rebooted, and the new download didn't help.

Googling around shows that this problem has been around quite a while, with wired and wireless, nearly all makes of mice, with two items in common:  (1.)  They all running Windows XP, SP2, and (2.)  They all used upgraded (8x.xxx) software for their nVidia card.  In fact, the concensus seems to be that once they downgraded their software to 7x or even 6x series, the problem goes away.

My questions are (1) has anyone else had this problem and found another cure, and (2) how do I find out if I have a nVidia card (without, shudder, opening my machine)?

Christian Forums and Message Board

Frozen Mouse
« on: Mon Oct 16, 2006 - 13:34:54 »

twd

  • Guest
Re: Frozen Mouse
« Reply #1 on: Mon Oct 16, 2006 - 15:49:41 »
(1) am not using nVidia with Windows, haven't seen the problem.

(2) Right click "My Computer", and select "Properties".  In the System Properties window, select "Hardware", then the "Device Manager" button.  In the Device Manager, find and expand "Display adapters".  This should show you the video card(s) in your box.

marc

  • Guest
Re: Frozen Mouse
« Reply #2 on: Tue Oct 17, 2006 - 12:19:54 »
I am only happy to see that the words "on a stick" weren't at the end of the thread title.

Offline Jimbob

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 21536
  • Manna: 439
  • Gender: Male
  • Me fail English? That's unpossible.
Re: Frozen Mouse
« Reply #3 on: Tue Oct 17, 2006 - 13:09:30 »
Mine freezes up on occasion and I have to unplug the mouse and the USB hub and plug them back in.  I don't have an nVidia card, though, but a Radeon.  I'm also unable to plug my printer into the hub and must instead give it one of the precious few USB ports on the tower....same for the scanner.  If I don't, the freeze happens when I print or scan.


(heh, heh, this never happens on my Mac, though... ::wink::)

Offline normfromga

  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3122
  • Manna: 72
  • Gender: Male
  • One mild and lazy guy...
Re: Frozen Mouse
« Reply #4 on: Tue Oct 17, 2006 - 13:53:16 »
Mine freezes up on occasion and I have to unplug the mouse and the USB hub and plug them back in.  I don't have an nVidia card, though, but a Radeon.  I'm also unable to plug my printer into the hub and must instead give it one of the precious few USB ports on the tower....same for the scanner.  If I don't, the freeze happens when I print or scan.


(heh, heh, this never happens on my Mac, though... ::wink::)
So far, I am coming up with a solution similar to yours.  I start with the mouse in the PS2 connection, and when that sticks, I take it out, pull off the adapter, and plug it into a USB port.  When that one freezes, the session is over. ::frustrated::

I have just switched from an optical mouse back to a "balled" mouse (I would have used a more discrete name, but none came to mind ::whistle::...), to see if the symptoms continue.  If so, I guess I will have to call the computer's customer support to see if they have any suggestions.

[I checked out the device manager, and found that there are no "nvidia" cards there.  A friend predicted as much soon after I made my initial posting, informing me that the chances of finding one in my low-priced emachine ranged from slim to none.]

Christian Forums and Message Board

Re: Frozen Mouse
« Reply #4 on: Tue Oct 17, 2006 - 13:53:16 »



twd

  • Guest
Re: Frozen Mouse
« Reply #5 on: Tue Oct 17, 2006 - 16:30:05 »
Not surprising; you probably have a Radeon, Intel, or ATI.

If so, I guess I will have to call the computer's customer support to see if they have any suggestions.

Brush up on your Hindi first.

Offline normfromga

  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3122
  • Manna: 72
  • Gender: Male
  • One mild and lazy guy...
Re: Frozen Mouse
« Reply #6 on: Tue Oct 24, 2006 - 14:12:07 »
Not surprising; you probably have a Radeon, Intel, or ATI.

If so, I guess I will have to call the computer's customer support to see if they have any suggestions.

Brush up on your Hindi first.
Not a problem...the Patels run most of the gas stations and sub shops around here, so I am already quite fluent.

I am still using the old-fashioned mouse with the default, PS2 software, and haven't had any problems so far.

I may reload the Fellowes software and try out the optical mouse again, but right now, the status quo is good enough. ::nodding::

twd

  • Guest
Re: Frozen Mouse
« Reply #7 on: Tue Oct 24, 2006 - 14:47:55 »
Funny, at lunch today a coworker was telling me how he used to keep frozen mice in his freezer to feed his pet snake when he was a kid.  His mom was not thrilled.

Offline janine

  • Guardian-Patroller of Lee's Outer Darkness
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 14001
  • Manna: 370
  • Gender: Female
  • Good Stuff
Re: Frozen Mouse
« Reply #8 on: Tue Oct 24, 2006 - 21:22:15 »
Every time I pass "Frozen Mouse" in the most recent posts section, I imagine a mouse popsicle.  It's gross.

twd

  • Guest
Re: Frozen Mouse
« Reply #9 on: Wed Oct 25, 2006 - 14:28:57 »
Hmm, next year I'll look to see if they have deep-fried-mouse-on-a-stick at the county fair.  They have about everything else on a stick.

Offline Bon Voyage

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 16049
  • Manna: 408
  • Gender: Male
Re: Frozen Mouse
« Reply #10 on: Thu Oct 26, 2006 - 07:34:24 »
Mine freezes up on occasion and I have to unplug the mouse and the USB hub and plug them back in.  I don't have an nVidia card, though, but a Radeon.  I'm also unable to plug my printer into the hub and must instead give it one of the precious few USB ports on the tower....same for the scanner.  If I don't, the freeze happens when I print or scan.


(heh, heh, this never happens on my Mac, though... ::wink::)

Sounds like an IRQ problem, which kinda makes those extra slots worthless.

twd

  • Guest
Re: Frozen Mouse
« Reply #11 on: Thu Oct 26, 2006 - 11:15:02 »
Hmm, you're right, Gary, it does sound like that.  But USB is supposed to arbitrate IRQ automagically.  I don't know how you would override that.

Unless there are two distinct USB cards in the box that are fighting each other...

 

     
anything